A TIME OF CHANGE
In 1826, Charles X, then in power, introduced protectionist “wicked laws”. The English
riposted by boycotting the fine wines of Bordeaux and it was in this context of economic
depression in the wine industry that Hugh Barton took over the Chevalier and Monbalon
estates. The remainder of the property, still in the hands of the Lascase heir's
descendants, represented three quarters of the original Léoville vineyard.
In 1840 an equitable division of both the vineyard and land was agreed upon. The
eldest son, Pierre Jean de Lascases, received a share, which was to become the original
property of Château Léoville Lascase.
His sister, Jeanne, passed on her share to her daughter, wife of Baron Jean-Marie
Poyferré de Cerès, from a noble house in Armagnac. A typical Gasconny name, Poyferré
(point ferré) originally meant a place on a stony road where it was necessary for
horses and vehicles to be shod with iron.
On the occasion of this 1840 division, the label Léoville-D'Abadie had already been
replaced by that of the Baron de Poyferré. The buildings of Château Léoville Poyferré
and Léoville Lascase were divided into two parts as they are today. This is a unique
situation in the Médoc and indeed in the Bordeaux area.