terroir_carte

Saint-Julien

The appellation of another dimension

Between Margaux and Pauillac on the left bank of the Gironde Estuary, Saint-Julien is a small appellation of 920 hectares.
As far as the eye can see, the land is covered with pebbles that naturally regulate soil temperature. Gravel, sand and clay are the other components of this geological alchemy, the result of sedimentary deposits by the Garonne in the Quaternary period. The vineyards of the appellation stretch over gravelly ridges that have been finely chiseled by erosion and designed to promote excellent drainage. Man could not have done better.

Meticulous soil care

Preserving balance

The vineyard of Château Léoville Poyferré sits on gravely, well drained soils that create a balanced environment for the vines. Soil analysis is the basis for vineyard practices, which are adapted to the condition of the vineyard (tillage, earthing up…)

terroir_carteb
terroir_plante

Work in the vineyard

The art and the practice

As in the old days, each vineyard worker is responsible for his or her vineyard plots and prunes them in the traditional Médoc method.
Prior to vegetation, manure is added. In early May, various canopy management techniques are employed according to vine growth and desired results.

Winemaking

The right choice at the right moment

About three weeks before harvest, Didier Cuvelier, Michel Rolland, Isabelle Davin (Château’s oenologist), Bruno Clenet (Vineyard Manager) et Didier Thomann (Cellar Master) go through the entire vineyard to taste the grapes, which completes the results from analysis. Plans for the harvest begin to develop.

terroir_preparationb
terroir_vendangesb

Fixing the harvest date

The master’s hand

Since 1994, grapes have been harvested into small crates. The grape bunches are first sorted by hand on tables before destemming, then a second time by optical sorting maching before crushing. Each vineyard plot is vinifided individually in one of the fifty-six stainless steel vats, of which twenty seven are double-walled.

Vinification

Experience and creativity, the perfect blend

Vinification is mainly focused on the quality and finesse of the tannins, characterized by research and innovation in maintaining qualitative tradition and lineage of the style of Léoville Poyferré. The 27 double-walled tanks are used for cold pre-fermentation macerations for 6 days. The extraction of color occurs gradually and pure fruit aromas are revealed. Particular care is taken in the selection of barrels for subtle oak in harmony with the wines. The wines are aged in barrels for 18-20 months. Michel Rolland provides advice for vinification and blending.

vinification1b

terroir_carte

Saint-Julien

L’appellation d’une toute autre dimension

Entre Margaux et Pauillac, sur la rive gauche de l’estuaire de la Gironde, Saint-Julien est une petite appellation de moins de mille hectares qui donne toutes ses lettres de noblesse aux vignobles du Médoc.
À perte de vue, le sol est couvert de galets qui régulent naturellement la température du sol. Graviers, sables et argiles sont les autres composants de cette alchimie géologique, résultat des dépôts sédimentaires que la Garonne a déposé au quaternaire. Les vignobles de l’appellation s’étirent sur des croupes finement ciselées par l’érosion et dessinées pour favoriser le meilleur drainage. L’homme n’aurait pas fait mieux.

Le travail des sols

Préserver l’équilibre

Le vignoble de Château Léoville Poyferré est assis sur un terroir de graves, sols maigres qui apportent un juste équilibre dans l’alimentation de la plante. Un plan de contrôle, basé sur des analyses de sols, permet de suivre l’état de santé du vignoble et d’agir en conséquence : griffage, buttage, décompactage…

terroir_carteb
terroir_plante

Le travail de la vigne

L’art et la manière

Comme avant, chaque vigneron a en charge sa parcelle et taille la vigne selon la tradition médocaine.
Suivent les opérations de sarmentage, d’acanage et de pliage. Avant l’entrée en végétation, d’éventuelles fumures sont ajoutées. Début mai, intervient une suite d’actions « en vert » comme l’élimination des chausserons, l’ébourgeonnage, l’effeuillage précoce, le tranchage à la main en deux passages et l’éclaircissage selon les besoins.

Le choix de la date des vendanges

La bonne décision au bon moment

Environ trois semaines avant le début des vendanges, Didier Cuvelier, Michel Rolland, Isabelle Davin (l’œnologue du château), Bruno Clenet (chef de culture) et Didier Thomann (maître de chais) parcourent l’intégralité du domaine pour déguster les baies et compléter les résultats des analyses. Le plan de vendanges commence à se dessiner.

terroir_preparationb
terroir_vendangesb

La réception de la vendange

De main de maître

Depuis 1994, les vendanges manuelles sont faites en cagettes. La vendange est triée sur tables manuellement une première fois avant éraflage des grappes et une seconde fois par tri optique avant le foulage des baies. L’encuvage est réalisé par cépage et par parcelle dans les cinquante-six cuves inox dont vingt-six à double paroi.

La vinification et l’élevage

Expérience et créativité, l’assemblage idéal

Le travail du vin est principalement axé sur la qualité et la finesse des tannins. Les vinifications se caractérisent par un travail de recherche et d’innovation dans le maintien des traditions qualitatives et la lignée du style de Léoville Poyferré. Les 27 cuves à double paroi permettent de faire des macérations pré-fermentaires à froid durant 7 jours. L’extraction de la couleur se fait progressivement et on obtient une pureté de fruit qui révèlent les arômes. Un soin particulier est porté au choix des barriques pour obtenir un boisé subtil en harmonie avec les vins élaborés. Les vins sont élevés intégralement durant 18 à 20 mois. Michel Rolland apporte ses conseils pour les vinifications et les assemblages.

vinification1b